1999 International Humor Conference/Conference of the International Society for Humor Studies

The 1999 International Humor Conference in Pictures

Opening Day (June 29, 1999)

Conference Chair Martin Lampert and Holy Names College President Rosemarie Nassif welcome delegeates to the 1999 ISHS International Humor Conference
held at Holy Names College in Oakland, California


Opening Session Speakers Peter Derks (College of William and Mary) and Kim Binsted (Sony Computer Science Labortory, Japan) present on Humor, Cognition, and Creativity


Education Director Cliff Mayotte from the Berkeley Repertory Theatre introduces the participants for the BRT Roundtable on the Art of Creating Comedy (Joel Schecter, Chair, Byron Yee, Sara Felder, Charlie Varon, and Geoff Hoyle)

Opening Night Dinner (June 29, 1999)

at Dinner

Service Award to Victor Raskin
(Dinner, June 29, 1999)

Victor Raskin receives award for his service from 1987 to 1999 as Editor of HUMOR: The International Journal of Humor Research.
From Left to Right, Salvatore Attardo (Humor Associate Editor), Alleen Nilsen (
HUMOR Newletter Editor), Victor Raskin (HUMOR Editor), Martin Lampert (Conference Chair), Lawrence Mintz (HUMOR Editor-Elect)

Opening Night Performances (June 29, 1999)

Top Row: Improvox opens the night of evening performances
Bottom Row: Emcee Lee Jenkins (as Dr. Rotwit); Lisa Rogers & Maurine McLean (the Therapy Sisters); Michael Fandal (Ernest Desire the Clown)

Session Photos (June 30 to July 3)             Closing Session (July 3)

Top of Page             Return Home